Thursday, October 13, 2011

Christopher Meeks Blog Tour - Review of Love at Absolute Zero + Giveaway

Love at Absolute Zero by Christopher Meeks
Published: September 17th, 2011
Publisher: White Whisker Books
311 pages (paperback)
Genre: Contemporary fiction/romance
Acquired this book: As part of Premier Virtual Author Book Tours
Warning: may include spoilers

Synopsis: Love at Absolute Zero is about Gunnar Gunderson, a 32-year-old star physicist at the University of Wisconsin. The moment he’s given tenure at the university, he can think of only one thing: finding a wife. His research falters into what happens to matter near absolute zero (−459.67 °F), but he has an instant new plan. To meet his soul mate within three days—that’s what he wants and the time he can carve out—he will use the Scientific Method. Can Gunnar survive his quest?



What I thought of Love at Absolute Zero:
This book was completely different from anything I’ve ever read. For starters, I’m not really used to male protagonists, so it was interesting to read a book from a guy’s perspective. Gunnar has a very analytical mind – as a scientist, things should have a purpose, a cause and effect, a solution. Love is no exception. This book is funny, a little wacky and ridiculous (not in a bad way!), and many people will probably be able to relate to and sympathize with Gunnar’s seemingly impossible search for love. The things he goes through on his quest to find love…well, let’s just say it had me alternately laughing out loud and cringing.

As a complete science idiot, the scientific aspects of this book had my eyes crossing at times. There was a bit too much for my taste, but it was interesting and I’m sure there are many people who will enjoy that aspect. Also, as a random side note, I really enjoyed learning more about Denmark when Gunnar dates a Danish girl.
About Christoper Meeks:
Christopher Meeks began as a playwright and has had three plays produced.
Who Lives? A Drama is published. His short stories have been published in Rosebud, The Clackamas Literary Review, The Santa Barbara Review, The Southern California Anthology, The Gander Review, and other journals and are available in two collections, The Middle-Aged Man and the Sea and Months and Seasons. He has two novels, The Brightest Moon of the Century, a story that Marc Schuster of Small Press Reviews describes as "a great and truly humane novel in the tradition of Charles Dickens and John Irving," and his new comic novel, Love At Absolute Zero.


Tour Dates:

Raging Bibliomania ~ Sept. 12th        
Alive on the Shelves ~ Sept 13            
Book Briefs ~ Sept. 14 & Sept. 15
Booksie's Blog ~ Sept. 16           
A Casual Reader's Blog ~ Sept.19 & Sept 20
She Treads Softly ~ Sept. 21 & Sept 22
This Miss Loves to Read ~ Sept. 22           
From the TBR Pile ~ Sept 23            
Butterfly-o-meter Books ~ Sept.26  &  Sept. 27
The Book Addict ~ Sept 28th & Sept 29th
Lit Endeavors ~ Sept. 30           
Books and Needlepoint ~ Oct. 5              
My Bookshelf ~ Oct 6 & Oct. 7
Gabriel Reads ~ Oct. 10 & Oct. 11
Dan's Journal ~ Oct. 11 & Oct. 12
Words I Write Crazy ~ Oct. 12            
Ramblings of a Daydreamer ~ Oct. 13 & Oct. 14
Drey's Library ~ Oct. 14


GIVEAWAY!!!

RULES OF THE GIVEAWAY AND HOW TO ENTER:
-This giveaway is open internationally.
-ONE person will win a copy of this book. If you’re from Canada or the US, you will be able to choose between a physical copy of the book or an ebook. If you’re from outside CAN/US, you will receive an ebook.
-The giveaway ends October 20. Winner will be contacted immediately, and will have 48 hours to reply.
-To enter the giveaway, leave your name and email address in the comments below, and be sure to tell me whether you’re CAN/US or international.
-You don’t have to be a follower of Ramblings of a Daydreamer for this giveaway, but I always appreciate the follows! ;-)

Thanks for reading! Be sure to check out the guest post by Christopher about his journey as a writer.



7 comments:

  1. Love at Absolute Zero sounds great.

    Shana - Sizzling Reads

    Email: shanaboo209 [at] YAHOO [dot] COM

    I live in the US.

    Thanks for the great giveaway.

    ReplyDelete
  2. I liked reading it from a guys point of view too and I agree I alternated between laughing and cringing with some of the things that happened.

    Thank you for commenting on my blog and thank you so much for your sweet words. It made my day :)

    ReplyDelete
  3. This sounds really interesting to me! I like scientists, so this might be up my alley.

    Cathy Keaton, ckeaton[at]gmx[dot]com. I'm a U.S. resident.

    ReplyDelete
  4. Combining romance and science? I'm in!

    Rebecca at Chromiumv12(at)gmail(dot)com

    ReplyDelete
  5. I love the idea of a book that appeals to science geeks.

    Canada here - helpersarah2009@gmail.com

    ReplyDelete
  6. I don't usually read from a male perspective myself, I sometimes forget there are books that are! *L0L* This one sounds rather interesting and I'd love to give it a try :0)

    ReplyDelete
  7. Sounds interesting and reminds me somewhat of my current PhD. existence :D
    Lenna from the Czech Republic

    psyxx(at)centrum(dot)cz

    ReplyDelete

Thanks for stopping by and leaving a comment. I love hearing what you have to say, and I appreciate every single comment. I hope to see you here again soon! ♥
~Marie

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...