Tuesday, July 26, 2016

Sherlock Love


It's no secret I love all things Sherlock. While I've only actually read one Sir Arthur Conan Doyle Sherlock story (A Study in Scarlet), I've read a ton of Sherlock-inspired fiction, I've seen the Robert Downey Jr./Jude Law Sherlock movies several times, and have watched the BBC's Sherlock TV series countless times. There's just something about Sherlock Holmes and John Watson that fascinates me endlessly and makes me want to watch or read anything even remotely Sherlockian.

I was super excited the other day when I went on Edelweiss and discovered two of my favourite Sherlock-inspired YA novels had sequels available for reviewers. Apparently I'm out of the loop because I missed title, cover, and synopses reveal for both books!

The Last of August (Charlotte Holmes #2) by Brittany Cavallaro
February 14th, 2017 from Katherine Tegen Books

In the second brilliant, action-packed book in the Charlotte Holmes trilogy, Jamie and Charlotte are in a chase across Europe to untangle a web of shocking truths about the Holmes and Moriarty families.

Jamie Watson and Charlotte Holmes are looking for a winter break reprieve in Sussex after a fall semester that almost got them killed. But nothing about their time off is proving simple, including Holmes and Watson’s growing feelings for each other. When Charlotte’s beloved uncle Leander goes missing from the Holmes estate—after being oddly private about his latest assignment in a German art forgery ring—the game is afoot once again, and Charlotte throws herself into a search for answers.

So begins a dangerous race through the gritty underground scene in Berlin and glittering art houses in Prague, where Holmes and Watson discover that this complicated case might change everything they know about their families, themselves, and each other.

{Read my 5-star review of Charlotte Holmes #1: A Study in Charlotte}

Mind Games (Lock & Mori #2)
December 6th 2016 from Simon & Schuster

Sherlock Holmes and Miss James “Mori” Moriarty may have closed their first case, but the mystery is far from over in the thrilling sequel to Lock & Mori, perfect for fans of Maureen Johnson and Sherlock.

You know their names. Now discover their beginnings.

Mori’s abusive father is behind bars…and she has never felt less safe. Threatening letters have started appearing on her doorstep, and the police are receiving anonymous tips suggesting that Mori—not her father—is the Regent’s Park killer. To make matters worse, the police are beginning to believe them.

Through it all, Lock—frustrating, brilliant, gorgeous Lock—is by her side. The two of them set out to discover who is framing Mori, but in a city full of suspects, the task is easier said than done. With the clock ticking, Mori will discover just how far she is willing to go to make sure that justice is served, and no one—not even Lock—will be able to stop her. 

 
Now, from read-ables to watch-ables...have you guys seen the trailer for series 4 of BBC's Sherlock? All I can say is HOLY SHIT. It looks so dark and intense! I've watched it a few times now and each time I get chills. I'm so curious to see what's going to happen, especially after the holiday special. I can't believe we have to wait until next year for new episodes. In the meantime, I'll have to keep reading Sherlock books and rewatching the first three seasons of Sherlock (for about the millionth time).

Have you read A Study in Charlotte or Lock & Mori? Do you have a favourite Sherlock-inspired book? What do you think of the S4 Sherlock trailer?

http://sweetmarie-83.blogspot.ca/p/about-me.html
http://www.bloglovin.com/en/blog/4690637

4 comments:

  1. Oh, interesting book thoughts--totally had not occurred to me for these to be done as YA. I'm not sure why--Elemental gives it the female spin. I do love the BBC series, a lot.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. I think the majority of the retellings or Sherlock-inspired books I've read are YA, which is a lot of fun. My favourite Sherlock-inspired series is the Every series by Ellie Marney - Every Breath, Every Word, Every Move. They're set in Australia; James Mycroft is the main 'Sherlock' character and Rachel Watts is his Watson. It's part mystery/thriller, part romance, 100% awesome haha. :-)

      Delete
  2. It seems like book loving and Sherlock loving goes hand in hand. I've never been able to get into Shelock. Books or TV. Sigh! I feel like such an outsider.

    ReplyDelete
  3. That makes me sad, Jenny! But I do get it's not something that would appeal to everyone.

    ReplyDelete

Thanks for stopping by and leaving a comment. I love hearing what you have to say, and I appreciate every single comment. I hope to see you here again soon! ♥
~Marie

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...